Half Marathon Training Plan

8 Feb

So, oh yea, I am running a 1/2 marathon April 6. I thought I should come up with a plan. Here’s what I’m adapting (from http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51132/Half-Marathon-Intermediate-Training-Program)

 

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 1.25.24 PM

 

Since I teach bootcamp 3 days a week, I’m going to keep that (duh) and on Wed add in a speed run (the 3rd column) before Pilates. This plan has the long run on Sunday which is usually my day off so I’m going to do long runs on Sat (or Fri – there’s one weekend I’ll be in SC for nephew’s b-day) [also no races planned between now and April 6 so those will be tempo long runs or negative split long runs] and keep Sunday off. I’m planning to add in some easy short runs likely on Thursdays (4th column, counting bootcamp as the strength part) and then possibly Friday runs as well (2nd to last column). Have I lost you yet?

Basically I’m going to teach bootcamp 3 days a week, pilates 1 day a week and run 2-3 days a week, maybe 4. I do so hate running on the treadmill (thus the reason I’ve put this off . . . ) but if I’m going to finish this race (no goal time – this is a hilly course) I need to get some running in.

Any tips or tricks appreciated.

Here’s the course:

  • *Start on Lake Road across from dam
  • *Right at Ledbetter Gap
  • *Right onto Cherry Knobs Trail
  • *Left onto Lakeside Trail (stays on Lakeside Trail…do not get on Sweet Gum/Chinquapin)
  • *Left onto Fern
  • *Right onto Lake Road
  • *Left onto Chestnut (drop down early to Azalea)
  • *Follow Azalea, then left onto River Mountain Rd (radio antennas)
  • *Follow River Mountain Rd to Firetower
  • *Turn left onto Firetower Trail
  • *Turn Left onto Chinquapin
  • *Turn left onto Big Oak
  • *Across to Chestnut
  • *Chestnut to Farmstead Parking Lot
  • Done!!

Here’s the map:

Bays Mt Trail Map

Leave a Reply

